Those 2 Boxes of Hair Dye Will Be $30.99…I DO NOT THINK SO!

I only bought 2 things that were not on my list and really good savings…spent $48.84, but with $10 worth of pts really $38.84

I am an Optimum Member at Shoppers and that is one of many store cards I have and Shoppers was having the 8000 Points for $50 before tax purchase….We all know it does not take a lot of items to add up to $50.00 worth of product. Which in this economy is a horrible reality.

So for this trip, I went into the store found my items, found what sales were going on, go home flip through the coupon binder, flip through the flyer to make sure I didn’t miss anything and I can get as much as possible for my Dollars.

Luckily I also had:

– a $10 Shoppers Gift Card, and

– $10 worth of Optimum points to add to this trip.

– Nail Polish was B1G1 and Revlon nail polish was buy 2 and get 2000 PTS,

– Oasis Juice on sale for $2.99 and receive 1200 PTS

– Sassoon Dye was on sale for $12.99 and I had a $5.00 coupon from Elle Beauty Box

–  Olia Dye was on sale for $14.99 and I had a $3.00 coupon from ?save.ca?…I think

– Bf’s Minute Rice on sale for 2/$4.00

– Triscuits were on sale for $1.99 and I had $1.00 off coupon

– Toothpaste was on sale for $2.99 and I had a $1.00 off coupon

– Coke was on sale for $2.99 and I had a 2 for 1 coupon

– Monsters were on sale 2/$5.00

 

Silk Almond Milk was a guilty pleasure for regular price of $4.79 and the extra items (Becel and Monsters) for the boyfriend

 

I find  it is difficult if you are trying to maximize your savings in a store where the manager can be a little….abrupt, and you feel like an inconvenience, but remember the world is not fair. We as a society would be lucky if Housing Costs were only 30% of our monthly income, then you factor in student loans, food (even harder if you have food restriction), dependents, unexpected necessities (medicine, physical rehabilitations/ alignments, etc), clothing…as you know the list goes on. This is why I refuse to really feel bad, I am a customer, the companies provide these discounts and reimburses the retailer (and it is not like the store employees are paying for the stock). I have a right to a few treat items, making that occasional home hair-dye a possibility by scraping the cost down in other areas is a reasonable expectation. And to do so I find all resources available to me…

 

My "Bag" of Tricks

My “Bag” of Tricks

Things I Use to Optimize My Savings

– I receiving email Flyers, coupon blog emails (Mrs.January, Extreme Canadian Couponing, etc),

– save.ca is a great way to combine multiple online couponing resources, as well as other coupon sites

– Store Discount Cards, Banks cards that provide rewards, Stamp/punch cards

– Subscribe to Sample sites, a 5 minute survey once in a while is soooo worth it I promise

– Subscribe to flyer deliveries (sometimes flashing the flyer off a tablet or phone will not be enough for a store clerk

– Coupon binder that is organized (I use chapter dividers and “cardholder pages”)

– Follow all blogs, coupon sites, favorite brands, companies, etc on Social Media ***ESPECIALLY Facebook***

– Get familiar with annual giveaway days and do not give up (Top Right corner of 2nd picture is the wallet and purse I won as a Grand Prize through Susan Nichole Handbags (https://www.facebook.com/SusanNicholeHandbags)

– Research your local market places and stores

– Know where you freebies are (Kids eat free, It’s your birthday enjoy a ______, 1/2 price Tuesdays, etc)

 

It should be noted that I have not paid for razor blades in _____ ….WOW, I do not remember, I have not needed to purchase Laundry Soap since prior to moving to London 3 years ago, and toothbrushes I get free, along with various other things. Note there is a difference between not paying and not needing to purchase, it is exactly that (razors free and laundry soap is still stocked 😀 )

 

SPECIAL NOTE: If you need a minimum coupon count to order that 1 coupon you want, do not let them go to waste…a little scotch tape as you go through an aisle you can “Pay it Forward”….I never say “well I have a coupon so it is worth buying….”. the hair dye I bought may have a high reg price but after discoutn and coupons it matched the cheaper products that were out.

 

Leave a Reply

